When I got into my degree (I suppose you all know that I’m taking up Secondary Education), I did not foresee the prerequisites that come along with it–lesson plans, instructional materials, Practice Teaching, etc. As I go along and interact with higher year levels, I gained insights as to how my course track looks like–it requires real hard work. Rather than backing down and losing interest due to a LOT of requirements (especially in the higher years), I fell in love more with my course and started feeling that, perhaps, I am really meant to be a teacher.

Field Study, along with the major subjects, is one of the requirements we have to accomplish before Practice Teaching. It comes in 6 subjects and I just finished the 1st of 6 courses which is The Learners’ Development and Environment. Going through the course has given me visions to my future profession and has exposed me to the classroom setting where most of the learning takes place. The subject is focused on the cognitive, biological and socio-emotional development of learners in terms of skills and environment which includes the linkage between school and home. Let’s all take a look to Field Study 1!

image

1st Semester – A.Y. 2016-2017

Field Study 1 is a course wherein you will be assigned to a school and cooperating teacher (CT) and you will be observing the learners in your CT’s class for 12 or 15 total hours. As a necessity, we have an FS1 book, Daily Time Record (DTR) and Evaluation (to be accomplished by our CT by the end of the course). I am assigned to De La Salle University – Junior High School Department and my CT is Mr. Mark Jayson Espinosa (Sir Makki). He teaches Elective English/Research subject and I manage to observe his classes on Grades 9 and 10.

image

Initially, I found it hard to squeeze the duty hours in my sched. I scheduled my observation hours on Thursday and Friday afternoons but due to some matters (which are out of my control), I crossed out Fridays and added Mondays and Tuesdays in. I was able to finish my duty hours right before the Students’ Week which gave me the time to answer my FS book–which is composed of episodes that tackle different areas to observe. It comes with instructions and guide questions which are connected to its co-requisite subject, Child and Adolescent Development. It entails real effort to finish the book though.

I have a couple of good stories to share about my Field Study experience. First, I got to know Sir Makki and experienced how it is to be in his class. He came from COEd as well and I’ve heard good words about him (some of my classmates would even say that I am THAT lucky to have him as my CT, which is honestly true). He cracks jokes in the class and by simply observing him, I somehow felt how it is to be an educator. Second, I felt how it is to be back in high school (but college is still a lot more lit). At one duty hour, I was seated in the middle of the classroom, literally, and it felt as if I’m one with the section that I’m observing. It felt great to listen to the lesson, laugh and learn with them. That is probably the BEST (and by saying ‘best’, I mean nothing else comes better) moment in my entire Field Study experience.

image
image
image

My first Field Study experience is an eye opener. It helped me view the classroom and school as a home for the learners and teachers. I had taken a glimpse of how it is to be in the classroom setting and how the learning process works. It is an advantage to me as I am enlightened with student diversity, for when I become a teacher in the future I can take this experience as a guide and use diversity to make learning more effective and fun. I look forward to deeper encounters with educators and learners in the field of education.

Till the next entry! – Bry 121016

PS. Credits to my blockmates for the visuals that I used in this entry.

Leave a Reply

