image

© DLSU-D Website

The Lasallian Festival is one of the events that I definitely look forward to (in the university). It takes place usually on Valentine’s week but due to the shift in the academic calendar, it is celebrated from the 27th of February until the 4th of March instead. According to the DLSU-D website, it “seeks to highlight the community’s response to the 2008 Philippine Lasallian Family Convocation to all the District schools to “institutionalize the celebration of the Lasallian Mission.” The week-long celebration features programs and activities which aim to deepen and instill the Lasallian Core Values of faith, zeal in service and communion in mission.

There are a LOT of things to anticipate during the LSF–no classes (on almost all subjects), programs which serve as alternative classes, the opening of the bazaar and *clears throat* wearing civilian clothes the whole week. This week also marks my post-chickenpox return to school. Isn’t it amazing? But wait, didn’t I miss friggin’ 5 prelim exams? Yes, I did and the LSF served as a ‘catch up’ time for me and the scantron sheets–talk about perfect timing. What a way to end February and welcome March, right? I enjoyed this year’s LSF and I’m sharing my 2nd LSF experience with you, through this entry. Happy scrolling!

image

Lasallian Festival 2017

Monday | 022717

I grabbed a quick breakfast at Nanay’s Cuisine to start the long opening day. I met up with my blockmates at Rotonda and we attended the Holy Mass Celebration to begin the week. I don’t have to describe how good it feels to start something by hearing mass. #blessed 🙏 After the mass comes the Mission Parade from the chapel to Ugnayang La Salle (ULS)–wore blue (which is my college color) and held blue balloons. The Convocation was held at the ULS and it featured the theme ‘Lasallians as Champions.’ Trivia: We went out of the venue to grab meals only to find out that it ended before we finish our meals. #fail

Each college (together with some organizations) flaunted their colors in the parade and it seemed as though balloons came to rain and flood. I had a good time chatting with my mates as we walk along the streets of DLSU-D. A week off of school made me miss (my blockmates, the food and) the setting of my alma mater–to the point of missing the stinky smell of the lake, no. The performers featured on the Convocation are the performing arts group of the university; hats off to all of its members. I wish I was one of them, though. #nexttime

image
image
image

© De La Salle University-Dasmariñas, Cavite’s Premier University

In the afternoon, the Educ Fest came about at the COEd Grounds with each block bringing a specific food as the contribution to the small celebration. My set of friends–the Pabebe Warriors (which can be seen at the featured photo)–arranged in one of the CEAT kubos and shared our food together. We have made it a tradition–that every Educ Fest, we eat together at the kubo. It felt good to catch up with them while munching street food and common snacks. There are a total of 4 programs that day and so I planned to chill right after by dropping by the bazaar before I hit the books (since I am, not to brag, a good student).

image
image

Tuesday | 022817

Cindy and I started our Field Study 2 duty that morning (we are finished as of writing) and tallied a total of 8 hours during the week. I finished a quiz and a major exam on one subject. We, the COEd students, attended the Lasallianization of COEd Buildings and Deepening the Future Teachers’ Lasallian Identity seminars at the Alumni Building. I had to admit it–I did not remember anything from the seminars that day. Apparently, we’ve attended like 4 or 5 seminars in the Alumni Building in this semester alone so I (sort of) confuse and mix them with each other. #infooverload

image

© Mary Kristine Arias

Perhaps I am just distracted with the thought of contacting ‘chickenpox’ to other people so I stayed far from some of my peers that time. Although I confess to be fully healed that time (as my blisters have all dried up), I wouldn’t want to have any casualties or afford one of my friends to have the skin disease. I want the trend to start and end with me so… Having that worry in the back of my mind definitely took away my focus from the seminar. FYI: My chicken pox is just mild–just small blisters, no fever or joint pain.

The campus dormitory (where I reside in) held its Open House for that day which means that dormers are allowed to welcome visitors at their free will. I wasn’t supposed to have any visitors as I was busy catching up with my exams but Gian and Yna–the CBAA couple–called me up asking if they can see my room. I’m not in the dorm so I hurried to meet them at the food square and tour them in my room. They only managed to stay for an hour since I have to attend a seminar in the afternoon. Thank you for the visit, GiNa!

image

Wednesday | 030117

We have no required activities in the morning but we have the COEd Jam as our main college activity for the week–which is quite similar with the GA. The theme of the program is neon. #LetsGoWithTheGlow Too bad, I wasn’t able to stay that long and missed my blockmates’ performance due to academic reasons (you know, the exams that I missed) and the Ash Wednesday Mass, which I attended in lieu of the COEd Jam. I took fasting in the literal aspect and ate only 2 pieces of bread that day. Going back to the topic, the COEd Jam consisted of a contest which requires each block to have a representative.

image

© DLSU-Dasmariñas College of Education Student Council

As for BSE21, we formed the BnW Band and they served as our official entry to the contest. The band members are Nica, Van, Dairen, Anne, Tin and Paw–making it an all-girl group. I was supposed to be a part of it (as one of the vocalists) but due to chickenpox, I wasn’t able to make it. They bagged the 2nd place and I couldn’t get any prouder of my classmates! Congratulations to BnW Band! Some of our professors even found time to praise them in between classroom discussion. They performed a Taylor Swift mash up with snippets and elements from other songs. If you want to preview their performance, click either here or here.

image
image

© Mary Kristine Arias

As for the Ash Wednesday mass, the homily is about going minimal–in terms of food, clothes and other material things. We are blessed with so much more than what we need (especially in terms of material needs); so much that we don’t get to use all of our clothes and shoes at some extent. Going minimal means taking what you need and giving away what you have but don’t need to those in necessity. On another matter, the practice of fasting is also explained. We are blessed the entire year with our needs and it wouldn’t be a loss on our part to experience hunger (and going minimal) for a day to experience what Jesus has done.

image

© De La Salle University-Dasmariñas, Cavite’s Premier University

Thursday | 030217

I scheduled another major exam that morning so I just rushed to catch the rest of the Youth Empowerment Conference at the Alumni Building. The speakers were Sir Royce Salva, Sir Makki Espinosa and a speaker who is an alumnus of CBAA (the former two were from COEd). They are all Lasallian alumni and are all recipients of the St. John Baptist de La Salle Leadership award. The seminar caters the youth from different schools and has a team building activity in the afternoon (which we aren’t required to attend). I learned more about leadership–the personal conflicts of a leader to the external ones and basically, what it takes to be a good leader.

image
image

© Mary Kristine Arias

Even though I missed the first half of the seminar, I was able to catch the open forum part wherein students got the chance to ask questions to the three speakers. It makes sense to me how these people bagged the enormous recognition of being leadership awardees–they have made a difference in their unique means. The seminar inspired me (not to aim for the award but rather) to create a difference and inspire the people around me to dream. It’s not about the greatness; it’s all about the bass, ‘bout the bass (no treble). *pun* It’s all about the way you inspire and put that inspiration to concrete actions.

My friends and I decided to have a photo op with the DLSUD letters in front of the chapel. (From left to right, we are) Cyra, MJ, Rica, Tin, Nica, Alpha, *yours truly*, Faith and Cindy–the Pabebe Warriors. #incomplete Insert Jane, Dairen and Rjhay. For some reasons, they have decided to keep those letters even after the LSF has concluded. The not-so-good thing about it is that it is placed in front of the pavement so it would require a perfect timing to have your photo taken, with all the pedestrians passing by. Swiping through the photos makes me feel jovial.

image
image

Friday | 030317

Anne, Mynette, Cindy, Jane and I went to Main (Dasmariñas National High School) for our FS2 duty. We observed the class of Ms. CJ Flores–our cooperating teacher, who is also an alumnus of our alma mater–and they had a film viewing that time for their critic paper; they watched the film Swiss Army Man. I gained insights about some realities in life by seeing the film. It has a deeper meaning despite the simplicity in the storyline and comedic approach. I accomplished another major exam that day at the ReEd department wherein I got a perfect score, (not to brag be let me). I attended one more seminar at the Alumni building right after.

image
image

MJ, Cyra, Tin and I attended the Bloggers Expo III: Wanderlust Edition, a talk which featured 4 of the top travel bloggers in the country. The ticket costs around 70 bucks and despite being a bit pricey, it was worth the pay. For a young and aspiring blogger like me *ehem*, it is important to be exposed to the deeper nature of blogging. It feels surreal to have them on stage and great to have seen (some parts of) the world through the lens of four travelers. The event also inspired me to take on local destinations first before going out of the country. #bloggersknow

image

© Mary Kristine Arias

image

If you want to check out the bloggers who were in the expo, click the links below:

Loving. Eating. Wandering. – Life is beautiful. Go out and explore!

Ironwulf En Route | Travel Blog in the Philippines and Beyond

No Barriers Just Horizons

Wanderlass | one lass’s quest to live a life not ordinary

That ends my 2nd Lasallian Festival experience! I’m pleased to share this experience with you through this entry. Moreover, it feels magnificent (take note: I barely use that term) to be a Lasallian especially in times like this. The programs and activities made me want to engage more with my alma mater and live up to the Lasallian core values. This experience helped me view my Lasallian identity as a fundamental tool to shape and inspire the people around me. The LSF goes beyond having no classes or having the bazaar; it is a celebration of the Lasallian mission which Saint John Baptist de La Salle has started.

image

I was supposed to come up with a lookbook blog entry to feature all my OOTDs for the week–similar to what I did during the Students’ Week–but apparently, I wasn’t able to document everything. Plus, (I think) it is just right to have everything piled up in this entry–with all the worth-sharing shenanigans during the week. I took me a week to decide whether to write this entry or not and 2 sittings to finish writing. Credits to the DLSU-D Facebook Page, COEdSC Facebook Page and to Mary Kristine Arias for some of the photos that I used in this entry. I hope you had a good time reading!

I hope everyone enjoyed the LSF 2017 as much as I did. Now, we’re back to regular classes. #backtoreality

Till the next entry. – Bry x 031617

PS. Thank you so much LSF for allowing me to catch up on the exams that I missed. Next time kasi, alagaan ang sarili nang hindi nagkakasakit.

Leave a Reply

